Facing DUI or DWI Charges?

Our Dallas Criminal Defense Lawyer Can Defend You

Photo of a glass of alcohol and car keysDriving while intoxicated (DWI) and driving under the influence (DUI) are both serious offenses, and convictions of these offenses can come with serious repercussions. Offenders may face penalties, such as license suspension, fines and imprisonment. Many of these punishments can occur upon the first offense. If you are facing DUI or DWI charges, it is important to understand the law and punishment for these offenses in Texas. Our Dallas criminal defense attorney Christy Harris has years of experience working in the Dallas County District Attorney’s Office where she tried more than 100 criminal cases, and knows how to defend your rights after a DWI or DUI charge.

Driving While Intoxicated and the Legal Consequences

Driving while intoxicated, referred to as a DWI, means that an individual was driving drunk according to the blood alcohol concentration (BAC) levels limits for the state of Texas. For most drivers 21 years of age and older, a BAC of 0.08 percent is considered too inebriated to operate a vehicle. For commercial drivers, this limit is 0.04 percent.

Punishments for DWI involving alcohol or drug intoxication can vary depending on the factors of your specific situation. However, these offenses can be complex to combat without the aid of an experienced Dallas criminal lawyer. The first offense can result in license suspension, up to a $2,000 fine and no more than 180 days in jail. Penalties increase sharply for second and third offenses, and any DWI may require license suspension for up to two years as well as your participation in DWI education or intervention programs. If an individual receives a DWI with a passenger younger than 15 years of age in the car, the driver may receive more severe punishment, such as a $10,000 fine and two years in jail.

Zero Tolerance Law for Driving Under the Influence

Texas has a Zero Tolerance Law for minors in possession of alcohol, and driving under the influence, called a DUI, applies to anyone under 21 who consumes any amount of alcohol and chooses to drive. A police officer may cite a minor for a DUI if they suspect that the minor consumed alcohol. If the driver is a minor and found to be above the legal BAC limit, the officer can charge the individual with a DWI.

You have the right to refuse a breathalyzer or blood test when pulled over, which may be beneficial to your case if you believe you are over the legal limit. However, the implied consent law still allows for your arrest as well as the suspension of your driver’s license for six months.

Our Dallas Criminal Lawyer Offers Defense Representation for Drunk Driving Charges

Losing your license can make traveling to work or other destinations more difficult. If you are facing a DUI or DWI charge, criminal defense lawyer Christy Harris can protect your rights moving forward. This includes contesting a license suspension if you refused to perform a breathalyzer test as well as helping you gain an occupational license so that you can continue working.

You have too much to lose if you receive a conviction for a DWI or DUI offense, and we will uphold your rights and freedom. Contact the Law Office of Christine Harris today by calling (214) 646-1818 to learn more about your legal options and for more information about our ability to help individuals facing convictions for serious crimes.

Comments are closed.